LGA Independent

The Independent Group represents councillors in England and Wales who are Independent, Green or from smaller parties. We provide our members with a voice at the national level and work within the cross-party Local Government Association (LGA) to ensure that the values and interests of our members are represented.

Meet our leadership

Cllr Marianne Overton profile picture

Councillor Marianne Overton MBE
Leader of the LGA Independent Group
Vice Chair of the LGA




Cllr Caroline Jackson profile picture


Councillor Caroline Jackson
Deputy Leader of the LGA Independent Group




Cllr Andrew Cooper profile picture

Councillor Andrew Cooper
Group Treasurer





Cllr Andrew Paynter profile picture

Councillor Adam Paynter
National Lead Peer